Gallery: Fo Guang Shan Main Shrine

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I still haven’t decided on how I’ll present my Taiwan trip in this blog, so for the meantime, I thought I’d share photos to keep you interested.  These are pictures of the Fo Guang Shan Main Shrine in Kaohsiung, a city in southern Taiwan.  I’ve only entered 2 Buddhist temples before this (Fo Guang Shan’s Mabuhay Temple in Manila and the Angkor Wat itself) and so far, each one has been an experience of discovery and learning. 

I love the intricacy of the detail that went into designing this particular shrine.  It’s hard not to be impressed by the sheer number of Buddha figures that were created in the walls of the shrine, as well as the latticework that frames each one.  The wide open space, the size of the main statues, as well as the layout of the place combines a very peaceful atmosphere that is very conducive to worship.  Personally, when I was there, I felt small and insignificant the moment I stepped inside.  It’s as if I had no choice but to acknowledge in my heart that there was a bigger reality, a bigger wisdom at work in my life and I had no choice but to submit to it.

Here’s a video I took of the interior of the shrine.

Inside the Fo Guang Shan Main Shrine from Liquid Druid on Vimeo.

To my shame, there was actually a sign outside the temple that said taking videos was not allowed (but taking pictures are okay).  I experienced the embarrassment of being mildly berated by a monk.  Good thing I was already done taking the video.

I’ve also taken a video of what the shrine looks like from the outside and I’ve previously posted it here.

= = = = = = = = = =

This entry is part of the Taiwan series dated July 19-27, 2012:

1. Gallery: Fo Guang Shan Main Shrine
2. Gallery: Feng Chia Night Market
3. Taiwan: The International Youth Seminar on Life and Ch’an, day 1
4. Taiwan: The International Youth Seminar on Life and Ch’an, day 2
5. Taiwan: The International Youth Seminar on Life and Ch’an, day 3
6. Taiwan: The International Youth Seminar on Life and Ch’an, day 4
7. Taiwan: Tainan & Taichung, with Lukang in between
8. Taiwan: Science and Religion
9. Gallery: The Taiwan Theater Museum
10. Taiwan: Traipsing around Yilan
11. Taiwan: Closing Program at Fo Guang University
12. Taiwan: Leaving Yilan, Arriving in Taipei
13. Taiwan: Last 24 hours in Taipei
14. Taiwan: Epilogue

Comments?

