Gallery: Remembering Siquijor

No matter how I try to be organized, I’m still at my very core a disorganized person.  And this reflects in how I post new articles in this travel blog.  There never was any instance where I finished a series of blogs without intervening unrelated posts being inserted in between the thematic posts.  And so, I’ll once again delay writing about the Hinatuan Enchanted River because for some reason I’m thinking about Siquijor.  (And that “some reason” is partly due to my friend Tin herself blogging about Siquijor.)

But first, a slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last year, I posted this note in Facebook after I returned from a Central Visayas trip, which included a day trip to Siquijor, last December 2010.  It pretty much speaks for itself:

When I first mentioned plans about going to Siquijor, not a few people (whether seriously or not) mentioned to me that I should take extra care against supernatural elements that the island province is known for.  Even I jokingly referred to these a number of times in my tweets.

Now that I’ve come back to Manila, I’m happy to report that during my 5-hour tour of the island, I’ve encountered nothing but kindness and warmth from the people there.  The most significant encounter that I’ve had with Siquijodnons was this:

During the early part of my tour being driven around in a tricycle, I was mesmerized by the sheer physical beauty of Siquijor.  When we came along a minor road obstruction, my guide/driver and I noticed that there was a motorcycle chasing us whose two occupants were frantically waving their arms and blaring their bike’s horn.  We naturally stopped to find out what’s going on.

It turns out that my dry sack – containing all my money, camera lenses and other stuff – fell off the tricycle without me noticing and the two guys on the motorcycle have been chasing us for a number of kilometers already in an effort to return it to me.

Now I don’t care if there are indeed shamans or sorcerers who have dark powers in Siquijor.  All I know is that there are two people who could have gotten away with stealing all my money and I never would have gotten it back, but they chose to do the right thing and go out of their way to return it to me.

Maganda pa rin ang Pilipinas.

13 thoughts on “Gallery: Remembering Siquijor

    • Ah, thanks for finally visiting Dr. Wends! I plan to return to Siquijor too. I wasn’t really satisfied with a day trip (5 hours). At least 2 full days should be enough for me to explore the whole island at a leisurely pace.

  1. You’ve seen more of Siquijor in five hours than I did in two full days. I also want to go back and hopefully feel a little less lazy so I could actually go out and explore. Thanks for linking to my post!😀

    • Really? So what where the only spots you were able to go to in Siquijor?

      I actually missed my boat ride back to Dumaguete in the afternoon. Good thing they gave me a refund of the ticket that I already paid and that there was another boat (Montenegro) that left an hour later. 😀

      • There used to be an image of a female saint in one of the churches that looked really scary and held a skull on one hand, and it used to be a tourist attraction. The priest got pissed because of it being famous for all the wrong reasons so the church stopped exhibiting the image.

        I’ve seen a photo of it and it was really hair-raising. I wonder what are the chances of me being granted permission to view that image? 😀

  2. good samaritans are everywhere🙂 God always keeps an eye on us.

    i love your photos. wish i could take photos half as good as yours.

  3. thankz i know where my family name started….. what it really its original spelling………………. BUNCAUEL pala NOT MY present ……….. james bongcawil, 09265345263….. secondary school teacher, liangan nhs, bacolod,lanao del norte

    • Hi James, thanks for visiting the site. I’m not too sure if there’s a definitive link buncauel and bongcawil but it’s a good place to start if you really want to research on your family history.

Comments?

